Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2012, 07:33 AM
Oxymoron Oxymoron is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 1
Default Losing control of plane and game controls

I am running Lion on MAC and for some reason ever since I have started using this, my altitude is not working. My controls are freezing up and I have no control over the plane anymore and I don't have control over any of the game options. I can still see the current game in motion but can't do anything but restart my laptop. I have another laptop and the same issue is occurring. Haven't had an issue with the game ever and have been playing since 2009. Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2012, 05:19 PM
CmdrNoval CmdrNoval is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana-US
Posts: 420
Default

May not be of any help... But... If it is a fresh install of Lion... You may not have the proper 'ports' open in your network settings... MAC OS's tend to leave most ports closed, unlike PC's Windows which leaves gobs of open ports "listening"...

I would figure by now you have tried a fresh install of the game which should open the proper ports, but I have heard of instances where the OS will close ports if they are unused for a few boot cycles...

Like I said, may not be of any help, but it is worth looking into...

Here is the thread that contains the port forwarding settings and some good info...

http://altitudegame.com/forums/showthread.php?t=274

Hope this helps...

Last edited by CmdrNoval; 02-18-2012 at 10:51 PM. Reason: added link to thread
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2012, 04:07 AM
the bat the bat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default

got exactly the same problem, MBP with most recent version of OS X Lion. arthur dent got the problem as well.

workaround when in windowed mode is to switch to another window with cmd + tab and back but that's just helping a few minutes and keeps beeing annyoing.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-07-2012, 02:59 PM
lakospeter91 lakospeter91 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 550
Default

I thought it was a problem only with my Mac, but it seems like it happens to more people. I'm running 10.7.3 and around every 10 minutes my plane doesn't respond to the keyboard.
What I do is click with the mouse once, this somehow solves the problem and the keyboard starts working again.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-07-2012, 04:20 PM
Tekn0 Tekn0 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,526
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakospeter91 View Post
I thought it was a problem only with my Mac, but it seems like it happens to more people. I'm running 10.7.3 and around every 10 minutes my plane doesn't respond to the keyboard.
What I do is click with the mouse once, this somehow solves the problem and the keyboard starts working again.
I had this problem on my Mac as well. Are you using Windowed mode? It is *definitely* a problem I think after I upgraded to Snow Leopard. It is EXTREMELY frustrating, suddenly for no reason you'd just lose control of the plane :/ and you have to mouse click / pad-click to get it to work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-07-2012, 05:19 PM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,641
Default

Please try this and let me know if it helps:

Open up /Applications/Altitude/config/options.xml in a text editor, and on the line starting with "<generalOptions "... change

disableMouseGrab="false"
to
disableMouseGrab="true"

Then save your options.xml and relaunch Altitude.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-07-2012, 07:56 PM
lakospeter91 lakospeter91 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 550
Default

It didn't help
I don't know if it matters, but I play on full screen, so this happens both in windowed and full screen mode.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2012, 03:27 AM
the bat the bat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default

didn't solve the problem here either. got lion since it's release last year but the bug with the keyboard just appears since the last altitude patch IIRC. got no problems before with lion and alti.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-10-2012, 10:52 PM
krawz krawz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lakospeter91 View Post
I thought it was a problem only with my Mac, but it seems like it happens to more people. I'm running 10.7.3 and around every 10 minutes my plane doesn't respond to the keyboard.
What I do is click with the mouse once, this somehow solves the problem and the keyboard starts working again.
Have had this exact same problem with same temporary workaround for quite a while now. I just changed disableMouseGrab to TRUE. Will see if that helps.

Edit: Running OS X 10.7.3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-12-2012, 01:32 AM
krawz krawz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Default

I'm still having this problem after changing the setting in options.xml. It does feel slightly different, but I still lose all control of the plane and smash into walls.

lamster, do you have any other advice?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-12-2012, 04:14 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,641
Default

Try extracting this zip file http://nimblygames.com/altitude/alti...wjgl-2.8.3.zip into your Altitude install directory (it should overwrite several files in the "lib" and "native" subdirectories).

For the standalone version that directory is usually
/Applications/Altitude
For Steam it's something like
~/Documents/Steam\ Content/common/altitude
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-12-2012, 08:48 PM
lakospeter91 lakospeter91 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 550
Default

I replaced those files with the ones in the zip and it seems to work, I've played for about an hour, no lockups yet.

Edit: OK, I spoke to soon, today the lockups happened again with the same, replaced files as yesterday I have no idea what causes this.

Last edited by lakospeter91; 03-13-2012 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-21-2012, 04:23 PM
STEP STEP is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Blgium
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lamster View Post
Try extracting this zip file http://nimblygames.com/altitude/alti...wjgl-2.8.3.zip into your Altitude install directory (it should overwrite several files in the "lib" and "native" subdirectories).

For the standalone version that directory is usually
/Applications/Altitude
For Steam it's something like
~/Documents/Steam\ Content/common/altitude
still having a lot off problems
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-21-2012, 06:07 PM
TAESU TAESU is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: BOLOGNA - ITALY
Posts: 76
Send a message via Skype™ to TAESU
Default

My altitude died ...
I have to re-install it ...


Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-22-2012, 08:21 PM
JDR JDR is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Blocking TE
Posts: 207
Send a message via AIM to JDR Send a message via Yahoo to JDR
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oxymoron View Post
i am running lion on mac and for some reason ever since i have started using this, my altitude is not working. My controls are freezing up and i have no control over the plane anymore and i don't have control over any of the game options. I can still see the current game in motion but can't do anything but restart my laptop. I have another laptop and the same issue is occurring. Haven't had an issue with the game ever and have been playing since 2009. Thoughts?
omg ur gonna crash
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-29-2012, 12:25 AM
krawz krawz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Default

I tried replacing the files with the ones from the zip file, but Altitude wouldn't start after that, and instead throws up a Launcher Error.

Edit:

Code:
Launch Target: launch-game.xml
Error Message:
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
	at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.a(SourceFile:240)
	at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.main(SourceFile:67)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
	at com.exe4j.runtime.LauncherEngine.launch(Unknown Source)
	at com.install4j.runtime.MacLauncher.main(Unknown Source)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
	at apple.launcher.LaunchRunner.run(LaunchRunner.java:116)
	at apple.launcher.LaunchRunner.callMain(LaunchRunner.java:51)
	at apple.launcher.JavaApplicationLauncher.launch(JavaApplicationLauncher.java:52)
Caused by: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: org/apache/log4j/Appender
	at em.entry.EntryAltitudeGame.main(SourceFile:13)
	... 19 more
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: org.apache.log4j.Appender
	at em.update.client.launch.a.findClass(SourceFile:124)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
	... 20 more

Last edited by krawz; 03-29-2012 at 12:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-06-2012, 07:58 AM
lakospeter91 lakospeter91 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 550
Default

Unfortunately the latest update hasn't solved my problem. Also I got a Java update to version 1.6.0_31 from Apple, no difference.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:16 AM
LuudL LuudL is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 14
Send a message via ICQ to LuudL
Default

Im having the same problem.... it seems like altitude (full screen) gets to background and by clicking with mouse it comes back to front and i can control my plane again.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:32 PM
Nikon Nikon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ball_grotto
Posts: 1,239
Default

Yup, I recently got a new computer with lion on it, and I am too having this problem. It's a huge problem for altitude, sometimes I'm lucky and it happens when I'm dead so I can click before I spawn but this needs to be fixed somehow.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:46 PM
CmdrNoval CmdrNoval is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana-US
Posts: 420
Default

Unfortunate... Hope they figure it out for you MAC guys & gals...
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 04-13-2012, 06:22 PM
Triped Triped is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 595
Default

I have this problem on 10.7.3 as well.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-28-2012, 12:11 AM
the bat the bat is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 12
Default

umm, will we ever get a fix for this bug or are we all lost? :-/
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-28-2012, 01:10 AM
krawz krawz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the bat View Post
umm, will we ever get a fix for this bug or are we all lost? :-/
I've resorted to apologizing to people and telling them I've been drinking.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-28-2012, 05:32 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,641
Default

No idea what they changed in 10.7 to cause it. Will give it another look soon.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-09-2012, 02:05 PM
CUDA CUDA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Milky Way, Orion Spur, SOL System, Earth
Posts: 6
Default This is what is happening?

The problem is with JAVA. You can't blame APPLE for it anymore, JAVA is now being distributed by Oracle. So now OS X LION users are now in a bind. Do what I did, have a dual booter of Snow Leopard and Lion. Use Snow Leopard for Alti, and Lion for everything else.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 06-10-2012, 08:53 AM
tgleaf tgleaf is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: being a video game clan CEO is not that prestigious
Posts: 2,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krawz View Post
I've resorted to apologizing to people and telling them I've been drinking.
And that's different from normal, how?

But yes, it's a pain to have to apologize every 10 minutes or so. Hope a solution can be found.
__________________
"Beagle, your words move and inspire me -" and of course they do, you silly little muppet, that is the intent
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 06-10-2012, 09:53 PM
Fartface Fartface is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington, D.C.
Posts: 921
Default

This happens to me all the time as well. For me if I click on the screen the controls return to normal, but doesn't stop the problem indefinitely.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 06-24-2012, 12:10 PM
_micro _micro is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nederland.
Posts: 120
Default

I have the same problems. Just a click with the mouse helps and I'm already used to it... :') But a fix would be great!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-20-2012, 12:50 PM
CUDA CUDA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Milky Way, Orion Spur, SOL System, Earth
Posts: 6
Default Java. java, java

Just use Altitude in Snow Leopard when you want to play, and reboot into Lion when you are done. The bigger headaches will come upon the release of Mountain Lion. I can not say anymore about Mountain Lion.

Sorry, but NDA's are far more important.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-20-2012, 01:01 PM
tomato man tomato man is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: leggo mommy flat
Posts: 992
Default

Dont wanna start a thread for this so ill post it here!
In last days when i play altitude on my imac with portable mac keyboard, every like 7 minuts it goes in tilt and doesnt answer for 5-7 seconds then it starts working again!Sorry for my bad english! wish some1 will understand what i wrote! lemme know if u have any tip! thanx

-toma
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 07-21-2012, 11:27 AM
lakospeter91 lakospeter91 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CUDA View Post
The bigger headaches will come upon the release of Mountain Lion. I can not say anymore about Mountain Lion.
I don't understand. Have you tried Altitude on the developer preview of Mountain Lion? Why do you say so?
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 07-26-2012, 10:57 AM
Psyko Soldier Psyko Soldier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delft
Posts: 89
Default

I want to upgrade to Mountain Lion, any experiences so far?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 07-27-2012, 04:35 PM
lakospeter91 lakospeter91 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 550
Default

I upgraded and played for about half an hour on Mountain Lion. So far my experience is that Altitude plays just like on Lion - the control bug remains, but no other issues so far.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 07-27-2012, 05:20 PM
Psyko Soldier Psyko Soldier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delft
Posts: 89
Default

Yes I upgraded as well, and it is the same as on Lion. No other issues indeed.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 08-03-2012, 04:09 PM
Element Element is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In Court
Posts: 519
Default

I have the same issue. Ever since I upgraded to Mountain Lion, my controls freeze. The only way to unfreeze is to use mouse and repeatedly tap to regain controls. I have the mouse disabled and no gamepad etc. used.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 08-04-2012, 04:38 PM
BSD BSD is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 5
Default Same here

Just upgraded to Mountain Lion (from Snow Leopard) and I lose keyboard control every 5-10 minutes. Annoying.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08-05-2012, 05:39 PM
Karl Karl is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,157
Default

I've been trying to reproduce this problem for a while now and can't. Are you guys running Altitude from Steam?

Does it happen in fullscreen or windowed mode?

Another other helpful info you can give.

Our test system specs:
iMac mid 2010 OSX 1.7.4
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08-05-2012, 10:44 PM
Psyko Soldier Psyko Soldier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Delft
Posts: 89
Default

Also happens here evey now and then. Always playing in full screen mode.

My macbook model is:
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 08-06-2012, 06:02 PM
Element Element is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: In Court
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl View Post
I've been trying to reproduce this problem for a while now and can't. Are you guys running Altitude from Steam?

Does it happen in fullscreen or windowed mode?

Another other helpful info you can give.

Our test system specs:
iMac mid 2010 OSX 1.7.4
I've got the stand alone version. It only happens on my macbook pro. Model is a Macbook Pro Mid - OSX 1.8, 2010 RAM 4GB and 2.60 GHz. It happens in both fullscreen and windowed mode. Only started after I upgraded to Mountain Lion.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 08-07-2012, 05:47 PM
tgleaf tgleaf is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: being a video game clan CEO is not that prestigious
Posts: 2,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl View Post
I've been trying to reproduce this problem for a while now and can't. Are you guys running Altitude from Steam?

Does it happen in fullscreen or windowed mode?

Another other helpful info you can give.

Our test system specs:
iMac mid 2010 OSX 1.7.4
Not running it from Steam. Happens on a MacBook Pro 13-inch, Mid 2010 running 10.7.4 and an iMac (21", I think, about a year old) also running 10.7.4. Always in Windowed mode because I haven't played in Fullscreen in a long time.
__________________
"Beagle, your words move and inspire me -" and of course they do, you silly little muppet, that is the intent
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controls? Caspid General Altitude Discussion 28 04-08-2011 07:50 PM
Mouse control of the plane disappeared gr1m Tech Support 2 05-21-2010 10:21 PM
I keep losing connection to login DMCM Tech Support 10 05-20-2010 07:40 PM
Plane Nicknames You've Seen In Game Sarah Palin General Altitude Discussion 30 12-19-2009 11:10 AM
the new fastest plane in the game ZidaneTribal Suggestions 7 11-01-2009 09:49 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC