Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2013, 05:25 AM
Winters Ark Winters Ark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 352
Default Can't Connect to Altitude

When I load up Altitude there are anywhere from 5 to 8 clicks and it says that it can't detect an internet connection. I hit try again and it stops at resolving DNS entries. I haven't had any problems until I checked today. I've had the ports forwarded since I started playing, I tried running it as administrator and in multiple compatibility modes. I've tried changing my router's DNS to Google's public DNS servers as well and didn't have any luck with that. I don't know what it could be. :/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-21-2013, 02:19 AM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 929
Default

Things I would probably try, sure you have already done some of these though...
  1. Reboot router (assume this has likely already happened if changed DNS)
  2. Reboot computer
  3. Try wired connection if on wireless or wireless if plugged in to see if it is related to a specific network card/driver (note: this will likely assign a different ip to your computer, so will need to update port forwards. Actually should first double check that the system ip is still the same as the ip the port is being forwarded to in router.)
  4. Check Altitude logs and see if anything unusual there. Probably Altitude.log, but might also look at Launch.log
  5. Try disabling firewall and any antivirus/antimalware
  6. Reinstall Altitude
  7. Try different ports (changing both in game options and port forwarding in router). I would try something very different than the default. Would repeat once or twice with different ports.
  8. Try plugged directly into modem or with another router if possible.
  9. Virus/malware scanning to make sure not infected

Probably in this order. None of these help and I would probably start testing hardware (RAM and hard drive at least).

Last edited by VAN1SH1NG; 09-21-2013 at 02:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-21-2013, 06:42 AM
Winters Ark Winters Ark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 352
Default

1: Did it one before DNS change and one after.
2: Already did that.
3: Always on wired connection.
4: INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,715] [main]: Initialized logger: file=log\Altitude.log, level=DEBUG, pattern=%p [%d{ISO8601}] [%t]: %m%n, maxFileSize=100KB, maxBackups=1, wasInitialized=false
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,841] [main]: Using any available IP (wildcard).
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,846] [Thread-1]: Requesting UPnP information for 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,893] [Thread-4]: Loading UPnP description for 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,900] [main]: Display.init
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,943] [main]: Display.desktopResolution=1920x1080
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:57,984] [Thread-3]: Internet lookup complete: Connected
ERROR [2013-09-21 00:58:58,037] [Thread-4]: Problem while searching for UPnP gateway
org.xml.sax.SAXParseException: Element type "soap:Envelope" must be followed by either attribute specifications, ">" or "/>".
at com.sun.org.apache.xerces.internal.parsers.Abstrac tSAXParser.parse(Unknown Source)
at JL.a(SourceFile:153)
at Nl.b(SourceFile:171)
at Nl.a(SourceFile:102)
at le.run(SourceFile:222)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:58,050] [Thread-1]: No UPnP gateway found
INFO [2013-09-21 00:58:58,058] [Thread-2]: Server lookup complete: 75.102.27.114:31383

The above is all the useful information. The rest is just settings like display mode and such. I'm pretty sure that's incorrect, though. I've never seen a UPnP option in my router (Cisco DPC3825) so I always assumed it was just automatically enabled. I just went and checked every option to make sure I wasn't missing it and I see nothing to do with UPnP, but regardless the ports are forwarded.
5: I'll try that tomorrow just to make sure it's not a firewall issue, although I don't know why it would be a firewall issue now.
6: Already done.
7: Something I didn't think of right away. Will attempt that tomorrow as well.
8: Not possible.
9: Already done.

I'm pretty sure it's the UPnP thing but I don't see why it's a problem when I have the ports forwarded. >_>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-21-2013, 08:17 AM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 929
Default

Found a few posts from others who had the same error message in Altitude, but none ever posted saying they fixed the issue.

Based on the error message, I would guess #7 would not help, but doesn't hurt to try.

For #3, I am not sure if you may have misunderstood my suggestion. Chances are if you say you are always on a wired connection, it is probably a desktop and you probably don't have a wireless card. However, if you do have a wireless card I would see if you can connect through that (and LAN adapter disabled). I highly doubt it is the problem especially if you aren't having problems with anything else, but this would eliminate the possibility the issue is related to your network card going bad.

Another thing you could do is see if there are any updates for your LAN card driver. Again unlikely to help, but always worth trying.

You can find the error from the log by searching Google, but I looked at a few pages and looked like all coding posts. Probably nothing that would help disagnosing the issue on your end. But if you felt like searching around you could see if you can find anything.

**************

A couple new things...
Again highly doubt this is the case, but I wonder if there is any chance it could be related to your username. Your last nickname in altbouncer does have various symbols in it. If you are using Steam to play, you could installing the non-steam version and see if you can connect.

You could also mess around with the Altitude options.xml file. Try setting upnpEnabled to false. If you already have the ports forwarded correctly, you should not need upnp anyway. So maybe this will bypass the error. I think setting debug to true adds a little bit more info to the Altitude log, but not sure if it will be of any help. Could try setting bindIp to your systems internal IP (IP the port is being forwarded to).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2013, 06:53 PM
Winters Ark Winters Ark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 352
Default

So I tried reinstalling Alti again, this time deleting the left over folders because I forgot that there are some left over. I'm able to see the login screen now. Although just like before I'm not able to enter the options menu. If I go into offline mode I can't even enter a game.

I set UPnP Enabled to false before and after the uninstall and still nothing. My username doesn't have anything to do with it either. I was able to log in just fine multiple times before this error. Still not able to log on after two uninstalls. Also, I use the standalone to play.

So it looks like it's the soap:Envelope that's messing with me. I've looked through the options and it's not there so I don't know where to go from here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2013, 03:42 AM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 929
Default

Just curious what the log looks like when upnp is disabled in optionx.xml. You may still get the same error but I doubt it occurs while searching for a unpn gateway?

I am pretty sure something is not being handled properly in Altitude's code, but it must be something very rare the devs never came across. Something had to have changed on your end that is throwing off Altitude. Further log file error info might help hint what that could be. If for some reason you still get the error at "Problem while searching for UPnP gateway" with the exact same info, obviously won't help though.

Also if you did not try changing the bindIP from "ANY", I would definitely give it a shot. You can either set it to the system's internal IP or "AUTO" which should pick up the systems internal IP automatically. Might check the log after doing this as well to see if it makes a difference other than the 0.0.0.0's being replaced with that IP.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2013, 04:58 AM
Winters Ark Winters Ark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 352
Default

INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:07,482] [main]: Initialized logger: file=log\Altitude.log, level=DEBUG, pattern=%p [%d{ISO8601}] [%t]: %m%n, maxFileSize=100KB, maxBackups=1, wasInitialized=false
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:07,577] [main]: Using automatically detected private IP (Ark/192.168.0.10).
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:07,579] [Thread-2]: Internet lookup complete: Connected
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:07,590] [Thread-1]: Server lookup complete: 75.102.27.114:31383
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:07,613] [main]: Display.init
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:07,632] [main]: Display.desktopResolution=1920x1080
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:10,662] [main]: setDisplayMode(1024 x 768 x 32 @60Hz, fs=false, vsync=true)
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:10,890] [main]: Display.reportedFrequency=60
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:10,890] [main]: Display.targetedFrequency=60
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:10,913] [main]: Distributor is nimblygames
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,285] [main]: Found 3 game controllers: Dual Box WII, Dual Box WII, Gaming Keyboard (3 other controllers)
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,285] [main]: Found configured controller: 0: Dual Box WII
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,285] [main]: Using controller: 0: Dual Box WII
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,447] [main]: Creating default vapor client configuration file.
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,518] [main]: onVersionResponse: <invalidRequest=true, message=Update Check Cancelled By User, version=0.0.0, vaporAuthenticationMethod=null>
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,518] [main]: Using vapor authentication to log in.
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,806] [main]: onVersionResponse: <invalidRequest=false, message=null, version=0.0.367, vaporAuthenticationMethod=null>
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,806] [main]: extraneous version response
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:11,821] [main]: AltGame[instance=0, port=27272, playerId=-1] - connection to vapor terminated
WARN [2013-09-23 00:51:19,536] [main]: hitch = 6237ms (average = 17ms)
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:20,604] [main]: AltGame[instance=0, port=27272, playerId=-1] - connection to vapor established
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:20,859] [main]: File config\tagged_servers.xml does not exist. Using default server favorites.
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:24,220] [main]: Detected firewall = true
WARN [2013-09-23 00:51:24,301] [main]: hitch = 41ms (average = 17ms)
WARN [2013-09-23 00:51:27,053] [main]: hitch = 40ms (average = 17ms)
ERROR [2013-09-23 00:51:27,058] [main]: java.lang.NullPointerException -- Here is where I tried to load Options. It froze for about 3 seconds then shoved me back to the login screen.
java.lang.NullPointerException
at fJ.a(SourceFile:357)
at fJ.e(SourceFile:276)
at It.w_(SourceFile:242)
at Yn.a(SourceFile:78)
at jN.f(SourceFile:216)
at jN.c(SourceFile:132)
at jN.a(SourceFile:100)
at eI.c(SourceFile:384)
at eI.a(SourceFile:371)
at OP.d(SourceFile:551)
at OP.f(SourceFile:526)
at OP.a(SourceFile:502)
at GQ.a(SourceFile:153)
at GQ.a(SourceFile:99)
at ti.a(SourceFile:1259)
at ZW.c(SourceFile:200)
at ZW.b(SourceFile:169)
at ZW.a(SourceFile:160)
at fa.b(SourceFile:1928)
at fa.a(SourceFile:1620)
at lB.l(SourceFile:117)
at lB.b(SourceFile:89)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2353)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2193)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2528)
at em.entry.EntryAltitudeGame.main(SourceFile:16)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknow n Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Un known Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.a(SourceFil e:252)
at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.main(Source File:78)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknow n Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Un known Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.exe4j.runtime.LauncherEngine.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.exe4j.runtime.WinLauncher.main(Unknown Source)
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:27,059] [main]: shutting down server
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:30,260] [Thread-12]: HostServer Downloading Official Map: ball_arcade.altx:413997:1814568211
ERROR [2013-09-23 00:51:30,285] [main]: java.lang.NullPointerException -- Here is where I tried to load up a Offline Skirmish, which didn't even give me a map load box.
java.lang.NullPointerException
at fJ.a(SourceFile:357)
at fJ.e(SourceFile:276)
at It.w_(SourceFile:242)
at Yn.a(SourceFile:78)
at jN.f(SourceFile:216)
at jN.c(SourceFile:132)
at jN.a(SourceFile:100)
at eI.c(SourceFile:384)
at eI.a(SourceFile:371)
at OP.d(SourceFile:551)
at OP.f(SourceFile:526)
at OP.a(SourceFile:502)
at GQ.a(SourceFile:153)
at GQ.a(SourceFile:99)
at ti.a(SourceFile:1259)
at ZW.c(SourceFile:200)
at ZW.b(SourceFile:169)
at ZW.a(SourceFile:160)
at fa.b(SourceFile:1928)
at fa.a(SourceFile:1620)
at lB.l(SourceFile:117)
at lB.b(SourceFile:89)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2353)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2193)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2528)
at em.entry.EntryAltitudeGame.main(SourceFile:16)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknow n Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Un known Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.a(SourceFil e:252)
at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.main(Source File:78)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknow n Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Un known Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.exe4j.runtime.LauncherEngine.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.exe4j.runtime.WinLauncher.main(Unknown Source)
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:30,297] [main]: shutting down server
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:32,115] [Thread-13]: HostServer Downloading Official Map: ball_arcade.altx:413997:1814568211
ERROR [2013-09-23 00:51:32,134] [main]: java.lang.NullPointerException -- Another attempt at Skirmish. Another failed attempt. Same thing that's been happening for the past few days: doesn't even get to the load box.
java.lang.NullPointerException
at fJ.a(SourceFile:357)
at fJ.e(SourceFile:276)
at It.w_(SourceFile:242)
at Yn.a(SourceFile:78)
at jN.f(SourceFile:216)
at jN.c(SourceFile:132)
at jN.a(SourceFile:100)
at eI.c(SourceFile:384)
at eI.a(SourceFile:371)
at OP.d(SourceFile:551)
at OP.f(SourceFile:526)
at OP.a(SourceFile:502)
at GQ.a(SourceFile:153)
at GQ.a(SourceFile:99)
at ti.a(SourceFile:1259)
at ZW.c(SourceFile:200)
at ZW.b(SourceFile:169)
at ZW.a(SourceFile:160)
at fa.b(SourceFile:1928)
at fa.a(SourceFile:1620)
at lB.l(SourceFile:117)
at lB.b(SourceFile:89)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2353)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2193)
at fa.a(SourceFile:2528)
at em.entry.EntryAltitudeGame.main(SourceFile:16)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknow n Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Un known Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.a(SourceFil e:252)
at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.main(Source File:78)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Nativ e Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknow n Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Un known Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at com.exe4j.runtime.LauncherEngine.launch(Unknown Source)
at com.exe4j.runtime.WinLauncher.main(Unknown Source)
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:32,134] [main]: shutting down server
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:33,677] [main]: Are you sure you want to quit?
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:33,678] [main]: Cleaning up altitude!
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:33,877] [main]: destroying display
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:33,877] [main]: frame exited
INFO [2013-09-23 00:51:33,877] [main]: client exit

As I said, I can get to the login screen now, but it wasn't disabling UPnP lookup that did it. It was the fresh install without any folder remnants. Still can't actually do anything with it though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2013, 06:46 AM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 929
Default

Ok, so I saw you can get to the login screen but didn't see you say you could actually successfully log in (although log still doesn't look normal). Still looks network related since failing on map downloads. Probably different result if you try to play on one of the few maps that comes in the installer?

Anyway, hopefully lamster/karl check this and can trace that Null Pointer exception to see what exactly is Null.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2013, 04:24 AM
Winters Ark Winters Ark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 352
Default

It doesn't matter what map I pick. The same thing happens. I didn't attempt to log in during the events of that log because the same thing has been happening regardless of what I attempt to do. It attempts to load the box showing that it's doing the DNS lookup but instantly closes and goes back to the login screen.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2013, 04:58 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Do you have any new controllers/peripherals (xbox controller, wacom tablet, gaming keyboard, etc) attached to the computer? Try unplugging those before launching the game, or update options.xml line 7 to

gamepadController="DISABLED"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-24-2013, 05:39 AM
Winters Ark Winters Ark is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 352
Default

T_T I love you lamster. It worked! Although I don't understand why my adapter decided to mess with Altitude now of all times. I've had the thing for a few months and haven't changed any settings with it since I got it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-24-2013, 06:12 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Glad you got it working! Faulty controller detection often results in terribly confusing errors. Thanks VAN1SH1NG for the tech support assist -- all of your suggestions were helpful. The key turned out to be in that final trace as you suspected.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot connect to Altitude server XIX Corax XIX Tech Support 4 10-23-2010 07:33 PM
Can't connect... tgleaf Tech Support 11 06-21-2010 01:16 PM
Why does Altitude say I cant connect to the server??!! BootStraps General Altitude Discussion 3 04-13-2010 11:26 PM
Can't Connect to the Tutorial? Kami Tech Support 2 12-28-2009 06:28 AM
Unable to connect to altitude server or forums Stormich Tech Support 2 12-14-2009 09:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC