Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-12-2017, 06:38 PM
Queen Biatch Queen Biatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: France
Posts: 9
Default Altitude won't work with W10 Creators Update

Hello everyone.

I've updated Windows 10 to its latest Creators Update (version 1703). Big mistake: Altitude won't launch, even in compatibility mode (either W7, W8).

I don't know what's wrong as I haven't altered any parameter (from version 160 and afaic, I strongly recommend you don't install W10 Creators Update if you run Windows 10 and want to play Altitude.

Is it just my computer or is Alti really broken by W10CU? If you have a solution, I'm all figurative ears (please, no, "uninstall-reinstall Alti/Java", "rollback" or "Linux dual-boot"). BTW, all my other games work just fine, it's just specifically Altitude that's kaputt.

Happy gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-13-2017, 05:37 PM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 927
Default

What exactly is happening? I just did the upgrade to see if Altitude still worked for me with creators update and it does. Did break my touchpad though lol and I had to uninstall/reinstall that to get it working again. Could be that some driver on your system is not working since the creators update that you just haven't noticed and for some reason that is causing issues for Altitude.

There are scaling issues with Win 10 / high DPI displays. Altitude won't display correctly for me unless I set the resolution to 1280x720 (native resolution of Altitude). Doubt that would cause it not to even launch but you could try setting that resolution in <Altitude directory>/config/options/xml (fullscreenResolution and/or windowedResoltion). Might also try changing fullscreen to false if you normally play fullscreen.

Since it won't start and assuming the above wouldn't fix it, probably should be some info in the logs. Check Altitude.log and Launch.log in <Altitude directory>/log/ with the default Altitude directory being at C:/Program Files (x86)/Altitude/ on 64 bit Windows or C:/Program Files/Altitude/ for 32bit Windows.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2017, 10:01 AM
Queen Biatch Queen Biatch is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: France
Posts: 9
Default

Hi,

Well reading Altitude logs wasn't really useful but Windows error logs were very interesting: crashes are caused by a GeForce dll, nvoglv32.DLL. GeForce drivers were up-to-date (381.65). I uninstalled them, rolling back to the previous version (378.92) and... Altitude has worked just fine!

I've sent a report to nVidia about this issue.

Oh, I should have posted my setup: i5 7600K, MSI GTX 1070 X (yay 1080p@60fps on Altitude), 8 GB RAM Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer. Maybe it is specifically related to my hardware, we may know later.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Altitude Update Problems, keeps restarting Tekn0 Tech Support 8 05-24-2012 03:52 PM
[G]eared [F]or e[X]cellence "Altitude Digitial Work's Thread" Loli.ta The Water Cooler 99 11-09-2010 06:59 AM
How do you update Altitude game server jiggly Dedicated Server 1 07-21-2010 05:50 PM
Making Altitude work/school friendly Triped Suggestions 0 02-20-2009 03:32 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC