Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Discussion > General Altitude Discussion

General Altitude Discussion Discuss anything Altitude related that doesn't belong in another forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:36 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default Altitude Community Mumble Server

We were talking about trying to get some sort of voice hosting for the community and specifically competitive altitude in #tl.altitude earlier, when I realized that Mumble servers are incredibly resource-efficient and I probably have enough leftover bandwidth/resources on the Proleague VPS to run one. Thus, I am now running a Mumble server there that you are all free to use. Keep reading for instructions on how to get/install mumble, or skip to the bottom for the server information.

What is Mumble?
Mumble is a voice-chat program similar to Ventrilo, but it has some distinct advantages that make me prefer it. For one, its extremely fast. The lag you see in Ventrilo can be fairly large, but with Mumble, its often extremely close to your ping to that person. So for a lot of people, you might not experience more than 50ms of lag before you hear what they have said. Mumble also has a great wizard for configuring your microphone that really helps everyone sound as good as possible. Lastly, Mumble has version for Windows, Linux, and Mac and some cool plugins that provide overlays and such in a lot of popular games (including an OpenGL overlay that should work in Altitude, haven't tested it yet though).

Where do I download Mumble?
To download the Mumble client, simply navigate to:
http://mumble.sourceforge.net/Main_Page
And download the proper client for your operating system.

Installation should be simple, and from there its simply a matter of configuring.

How do I configure Mumble?
I highly recommend you use their Audio Wizard to configure your microphone. It should ask you if you would like to do it the first time you run it, or you can do it by choosing Configure->Audio Wizard in the menu. Simply follow the instructions and you should end up with a nicely configured setup.

I also recommend you leave the Certificate settings at what the wizard has set if this is your first time using Mumble.

How do I connect to the server?
Simply choose Server->Connect and hit 'Add new...'

The server information for the Altitude Community Mumble Server is:
Address: lively.shieldbattery.net
Port: 64277
Username: Whatever you want, preferrably your Altitude name

Upon connecting for the first time, you should right-click your name and choose Register. This will allow me to place you in groups/give you access to special channels/etc. down the road.

Feel free to use this server for anything Altitude-related, and let me know if you would like a special channel for your team/clan or if there are any problems I could fix.

Last edited by tec27; 05-06-2014 at 08:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:38 AM
Stormich Stormich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Corporate Police State
Posts: 1,151
Default

Very nice, hoping for ladder integration along the line gj Tec
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-10-2010, 07:51 AM
gemigemi gemigemi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 393
Default

Ah, very nice. I was going to set up a Mumble server on the {arr} servers for clan and public use, but I guess I can avoid that hassle now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:06 AM
Beagle Beagle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: a little bit about CCN: he is 22 yrs old, blonde hair blue eyes, athletic build, great smile/persona
Posts: 1,687
Default

[6:06:25 PM] Server connection failed: The remote host closed the connection.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:15 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagle View Post
[6:06:25 PM] Server connection failed: The remote host closed the connection.

Make sure you have the newest version of Mumble. Ever since version 1.2 you have to be using 1.2 or higher to connect to new servers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:53 AM
Beagle Beagle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: a little bit about CCN: he is 22 yrs old, blonde hair blue eyes, athletic build, great smile/persona
Posts: 1,687
Default

Successssss
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:15 AM
idk idk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 120
Default

Nice to see a public one. Good job tec!

My in-game lag increased with 100-200 ms
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-10-2010, 11:48 AM
tyr tyr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 1,692
Default

This is going to be epic.
Just log in every time you play so there will always be people to talk with. Or even if you're not playing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2010, 12:14 PM
Sarah Palin Sarah Palin is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 467
Default

You may need to visit this thread before you understand anything that is said on Mumb - o waiiiiiit.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-10-2010, 12:29 PM
Beagle Beagle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: a little bit about CCN: he is 22 yrs old, blonde hair blue eyes, athletic build, great smile/persona
Posts: 1,687
Default

Mumble tonight basically devolved into nothing but Plinkett. And I wouldn't have had it any other way.

Email me at this webzone if you want a pizza roll
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:04 PM
GGQ GGQ is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada, the frozen north
Posts: 937
Default

'Muble Bar' ??

Who fails at naming, now?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:04 PM
York York is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,070
Default

THis worked great. Then I downloaded it on another computer and now I need a password
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:24 PM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by York View Post
THis worked great. Then I downloaded it on another computer and now I need a password
You probably need to transfer your certificate over. Not really sure where to find it, but that's how Mumble deals with user registration.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-10-2010, 08:41 PM
Mt.Vesuvius Mt.Vesuvius is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: If anyone asks, Tmic isnt my pimp..
Posts: 2,475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beagle View Post
Mumble tonight basically devolved into nothing but Plinkett. And I wouldn't have had it any other way.

Email me at this webzone if you want a pizza roll


what the heck...

i highlighted this by accident and saw a secret message
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-10-2010, 09:03 PM
tgleaf tgleaf is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: being a video game clan CEO is not that prestigious
Posts: 2,737
Default

Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:32 AM
mled mled is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moms basement
Posts: 896
Default

i use vent its easy and good.


edit:ventrilo
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-11-2010, 12:34 AM
combat combat is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 456
Default

once again tec delivers, this is excellent!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-11-2010, 03:13 AM
Torrent Torrent is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern California
Posts: 362
Default

god people like beagle and york found me annoying on mumble
i would say my voice is kinda deep but to them its justin beiber talking. got suggestions+sticky thread
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:28 AM
wolf'j'max wolf'j'max is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,848
Default

TEC this is great. Oh wait. Make a room where we can commentate on APL matches. Someone records. He and others commentate.
Oh and: yoiu should commentate with your friend again. (referring to vapor vs ACE)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:32 AM
nesnl nesnl is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,503
Default

Referring to these games perhaps?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg TSGame1.jpg (92.2 KB, 98 views)
File Type: jpg TSGame2.jpg (93.9 KB, 84 views)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:37 AM
wolf'j'max wolf'j'max is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,848
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nesnl View Post
Referring to these games perhaps?
Hey yes you're rightni forgot those vs in to the walls and team solid. (these guys really followed their name, they crashed with like 4 after each other at cave.)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02-11-2010, 07:41 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

You guys should be able to create your own custom rooms in the Custom Channels thing, I think. At least I tried to set that up :P Just make sure you're registered (you'll have a + to the right of your name if you are) and right click on that one and hit 'Add'. Then you should be able to manage it as you see fit.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:09 AM
wolf'j'max wolf'j'max is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,848
Default

Thanks tec! I think it will be alot more fun to commentate with othrr such as chill and artosis do. (http://youtube.com/nevake
Also TSL matches which they commentate.)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02-11-2010, 08:31 AM
Beagle Beagle is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: a little bit about CCN: he is 22 yrs old, blonde hair blue eyes, athletic build, great smile/persona
Posts: 1,687
Default

Oh, hurri and me, we got plans for that
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02-11-2010, 09:48 AM
CCN CCN is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Xiang Gang
Posts: 1,992
Default

aff was mean to me =(
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 02-12-2010, 04:49 PM
tgleaf tgleaf is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: being a video game clan CEO is not that prestigious
Posts: 2,737
Default

Tec, is it possible to password protect a channel?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 02-12-2010, 04:57 PM
Evan20000 Evan20000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Some desert nobody cares about
Posts: 4,594
Default

Downloading. I don't have a mic, but I'll listen in on what you all are saying.

EDIT: Server connection failed. Connection refused.

Last edited by Evan20000; 02-12-2010 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02-12-2010, 04:57 PM
tyr tyr is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: France
Posts: 1,692
Default

Yes, it's possible.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 02-12-2010, 10:06 PM
Apathy Apathy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey :(. Brooklyn @ Heart
Posts: 237
Default Help

Hey every time i use mumble this white box appears on my alt screen with or without full screen on.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wtf.jpg (98.1 KB, 83 views)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02-13-2010, 12:22 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Turn off the Overlay in the settings and that issue will probably be resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 02-13-2010, 02:20 AM
Evan20000 Evan20000 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Some desert nobody cares about
Posts: 4,594
Default

I got it to work. No mic yet (I'll work on that), but I'll get on anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 02-13-2010, 06:47 PM
Herodadotus Herodadotus is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 480
Default

Same here. It works great, even with a built in mic. Probably won't use it much until others in my clan get it, though.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-13-2010, 07:17 PM
Stormich Stormich is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Corporate Police State
Posts: 1,151
Default

I was spamming that the white box was overlay problem and nobody was paying attn
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-13-2010, 08:57 PM
wolf'j'max wolf'j'max is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,848
Default

..tec. This is the best thing ever. This morning with a drunk ufo and X. It was so much fun. Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-14-2010, 12:24 AM
-MH-CaptainVogez -MH-CaptainVogez is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Australia - the Best place in the world!
Posts: 419
Default

and EVERYONE loves a server full of Aussie Accents
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 02-14-2010, 11:47 PM
Apathy Apathy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey :(. Brooklyn @ Heart
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormich View Post
I was spamming that the white box was overlay problem and nobody was paying attn
Lol storm, so that's what u ment ! ^^ Didn't know there was an overlay option thingy. Thanks people
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-05-2010, 07:11 PM
Mandrad Mandrad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 602
Default

Hey guys, tx in advance

I tried but didnt suceed installing mumble on my MAC OS 10.4.11
Im a stupid at installing stuff with mac! Please help. I read downloaded help txt still didnt got it!

I downloaded Mumble 1.2.2; now how do i install it? Disk is on my desktop and when i click on the only icons similar to aplications nothing hapens!

If i cant install it, is it possible to use ventrilo in your server? I tried to, and inserted server information u provided, but connection didnt succed?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-05-2010, 08:14 PM
tgleaf tgleaf is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: being a video game clan CEO is not that prestigious
Posts: 2,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandrad View Post
I tried but didnt suceed installing mumble on my MAC OS 10.4.11

I downloaded Mumble 1.2.2; now how do i install it? Disk is on my desktop and when i click on the only icons similar to aplications nothing hapens!
From the Mumble website (http://mumble.sourceforge.net/Instal...ble#Mac_OS_X): Note that the official releases of Mumble 1.2.x are not currently compatible with Mac OS X 10.4, but you can try the experimental snapshots found here warning: use at your own risk; these have not been thoroughly tested, and may have bugs.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-05-2010, 08:21 PM
Mandrad Mandrad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Lisbon
Posts: 602
Default

Tx Tgleaf,

I noticed that, thats 1 of the reasons im trying to go ventrilo
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-05-2010, 10:31 PM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mandrad View Post
Tx Tgleaf,

I noticed that, thats 1 of the reasons im trying to go ventrilo
Why don't you just install one of the experimental snapshots? They're not likely to be *that* unstable.

And no, its not possible to use Ventrilo because Mumble and Ventrilo are not the same thing. On top of that Ventrilo has horrible, horrible limitations and licensing agreements, so I will never run a Ventrilo server.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC