Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2009, 04:01 PM
iSam iSam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to iSam
Default Server HELP!

i have my server on the server configurater but when i click on server launch it says "serverlauncher failed excitingly"

PLZ help me and tell me what i need to do! thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2009, 06:34 PM
Karl Karl is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,206
Default

send log files (C:\Program Files\Altitude\log) in a zip file to support@nimblygames.com

http://altitudegame.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2009, 06:39 PM
iSam iSam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to iSam
Default

i have mac but ok
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2009, 07:02 PM
Karl Karl is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,206
Default

in your ServerLauncher.log file you will see:

ERROR [2009-05-10 12:03:16,343] [main]: java.net.BindException: Address already in use
java.net.BindException: Address already in use
at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.bind0(Native Method)

this means that the port you are trying to have the server run on is already being used by another program.

you must make sure that "Update UDP port" and all server ports are not in use.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:06 PM
iSam iSam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to iSam
Default

well PLZ tell me a port number that is open! ive tried like TEN different one and none work

Last edited by iSam; 05-10-2009 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2009, 08:53 PM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Make sure to use different ports for the game, the server update port, and each game server.

For example
Game (default): 27272
Update Port: 28000
FFA Clan Server, Port: 28001
TBD Clan Server, Port: 28002

etc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2009, 09:54 PM
iSam iSam is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 27
Send a message via Skype™ to iSam
Default

Thanks But No Thanks Erik Measure emailed me and helped me out
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2009, 10:25 PM
nesnl nesnl is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,503
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iSam View Post
Thanks But No Thanks Erik Measure emailed me and helped me out
I wonder who that Erik Measure fellow is!??!?!?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2009, 01:07 AM
argonide argonide is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nesnl View Post
I wonder who that Erik Measure fellow is!??!?!?
I don't know, but he sounds like a pretty cool dude.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC