Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2012, 05:00 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default cameraCenterPolicy="IF_NEVER" not working

I'm using the steam client. Whenever I change this from IF_MOUSE to IF_NEVER it automatically resets as soon as I open the game. Halp?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-07-2012, 05:55 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Valid arguments are

NEVER
NEVER_MOUSE
IF_MOUSE
ALWAYS

You probably want NEVER or NEVER_MOUSE.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2012, 02:35 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

Thanks lam, that did the trick.

Last edited by Kennedy; 07-27-2013 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2012, 05:16 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

Hey lam

This worked for a couple of days, but now the cone is getting misaligned from my plane. It still responds to my mouse movements, but it's about six inches too far to the right. The weird thing is that sometimes it freezes in place, and if I fly over to the tip of the cone it will reattach to my plane for a few seconds before freezing again. It's quite annoying, help?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2012, 06:09 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Weird - can you take a screenshot (F5 in game, upload to imgur.com or whatever) so I can see it? Are you using NEVER or NEVER_MOUSE?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-10-2012, 06:32 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

It's gone away for now, but it happened when using both.

I'll take a screenshot if it happens again.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-10-2012, 06:36 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

spoke too soon

http://imgur.com/a/iAPVi

this is using NEVER_MOUSE, but it's identical as NEVER
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-10-2012, 06:48 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

While you're messing around with this, I'd like to suggest that the cursor reorients itself similar to the miranda reorientation when traveling through the side of a map, like on the bottom part of middleground. As is it's very hard not to crash, because at some point the cursor is no longer moving you forward.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-19-2012, 04:09 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

I've noticed that this is triggered when the camera stops being centered. If my plane moves in a way that the camera has to move it out of the center of the screen, the cone (and area from where controls are input) stays where it was. If I fly back into it, the cone stays with my plane for as long as I am centered.

It's pretty unplayable at the moment. If anybody can figure out a solution I'd really appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-19-2012, 01:04 PM
DICK van DYKE DICK van DYKE is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 128
Default

This happens when you use mouse navigation without camera centering (NEVER or NEVER_MOUSE) in servers where the camera is zoomed out more than normal, like in 1dm servers. No solutions beyond a bug fix as far as I can tell.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-25-2012, 09:22 PM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

Dick's right, it's only happening to me on zoomed servers. Didn't realize that previously.

Any idea if this can be fixed, Lam?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-26-2012, 02:38 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Probably, will take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-03-2012, 04:02 PM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

Any luck with a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-03-2012, 04:44 PM
[hlx] entr0py [hlx] entr0py is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 69
Default

I have this same problem: http://altitudegame.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7834
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-19-2012, 04:12 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

I'm having a new problem. Using the steam client, I am unable to save NEVER as an option; the setting reverts to IF_MOUSE when I restart altitude.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-25-2012, 06:04 PM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kennedy View Post
I'm having a new problem. Using the steam client, I am unable to save NEVER as an option; the setting reverts to IF_MOUSE when I restart altitude.
Have you tried closing the game, then editing the config file (C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\config\optio ns.xml) -- modify the <generalOptions line to use NEVER and make sure to save your changes -- then launch the game again?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-25-2012, 09:33 PM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

That's how I've been trying; I got it to work, but now I'm having the original issue with the misplaced directional cone even in official servers where the zoom thing shouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-05-2012, 04:36 AM
[hlx] entr0py [hlx] entr0py is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 69
Default

Are you using Windows Vista? Try running the notepad or wordpad as an Administrator and then editing the config file. Windows Vista won't let you freely edit files in the Program Files folder without Admin privileges.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-19-2012, 05:02 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

Yeah, I can edit the config.

Still can't use uncentered camera in zoomed game modes though

sadface
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 03-16-2013, 10:00 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

lamster, still think this can be fixed?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-17-2013, 07:30 AM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

Bumping this.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 04-10-2016, 06:31 PM
Kennedy Kennedy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: On scum's trail
Posts: 989
Default

lamster pls
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's a word that starts with "F" and ends in "uck"? Jrathje The Water Cooler 14 02-18-2014 06:40 AM
"Resume" and "Disconnect" buttons further apart Inofaith Suggestions 10 11-23-2010 02:35 AM
[G]eared [F]or e[X]cellence "Altitude Digitial Work's Thread" Loli.ta The Water Cooler 99 11-09-2010 06:59 AM
"Clan" / "Team" system idea. matattack Suggestions 15 03-03-2010 03:34 AM
Adding "All Official Maps" in Server Configurator does not avoid repeats Pieface Suggestions 13 12-06-2009 08:01 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC