Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2015, 12:27 AM
Slender Slender is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,843
Default Transferring account.

I'll explain a little about the context in which I'm asking what follows:

Around midnight, last night, my computer crashed and gave me a blue screen of death (the OS I'm running is completely irrelevant), I followed up and restarted my computer in order to investigate what was going on. At first I suspected that the problem came from a torrent I started to download as the event occurred soon after I opened such torrent file. Therefore, I deleted the torrent which was still downloading and all other torrents I had downloaded previously. Not to my surprise, the issue wasn't solved there. I then inspected the task manager for any anomalies on any process, soon to notice that the Steam client was eating up 70% of my processor's usage and around 50% of the RAM, dropping my system's performance heavily. Soon after, I noticed that at some point, I had lost connection to my home's Wi-fi. Growing rapidly suspicious about Steam being the one who had caused so much trouble, I killed the process and who would have thought, I immediately regained internet connection and my computer was running as smooth as always. All this led to me uninstalling Steam, with no hopes of re-installing any time soon to prevent any further issues and also leaving me with no access to Altitude but with one only option (I think).

Considering the last sentence, I'd like to know if it's possible to somehow access my Altitude account that used Steam credentials through the standalone version of the game. I've already tried using the e-mail and password from my Steam account but it proved no good.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2015, 12:44 AM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 931
Default

Personally I would investigate Steam a bit more, no reason it should ever use up much CPU or RAM. Sometimes it can slow internet down if updating games, but that should be it. Worst case if it somehow is Steam I'm sure they would issue an update very quickly to fix the problem. I'm constantly having to restart Steam to update.

At the very least I would have tried reinstalling Steam once. Also could possibly related to a virus and/or hardware issue.

If you will be playing ladder on another account let me know and I will change the vapor ID registered to you so your rating, etc will work on the standalone account. Preferably do this before playing any ladder games on another account.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2015, 01:20 AM
Slender Slender is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN1SH1NG View Post
Personally I would investigate Steam a bit more, no reason it should ever use up much CPU or RAM. Sometimes it can slow internet down if updating games, but that should be it. Worst case if it somehow is Steam I'm sure they would issue an update very quickly to fix the problem. I'm constantly having to restart Steam to update.

At the very least I would have tried reinstalling Steam once. Also could possibly related to a virus and/or hardware issue.

If you will be playing ladder on another account let me know and I will change the vapor ID registered to you so your rating, etc will work on the standalone account. Preferably do this before playing any ladder games on another account.
I was planning on asking you about doing so with my ladder data, but at first I was willing to see if there was another way to get my all my Steam account's data onto my smurf account. About the virus thing, I also thought about that, but a virus doing its work through Steam? Highly unlikely. I did eventually scan my whole computer for any virus and malware and what my antivirus found was at most some unwanted adware categorized as a medium threat.

I guess I'll give Steam another try but I'm still afraid of getting as much trouble as before.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2015, 01:48 AM
Slender Slender is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,843
Default

I installed Steam again just a while ago and it's working fine so far, although at first I wasn't able to log in until I set the launch option -tcp for the .exe. Perhaps the old installation became corrupted somehow and I wouldn't really be surprised now since I had been having several minor issues for some time now, specifically when trying to edit my profile. I'll be keeping an eye out in case the issue really is virus-related and though it seems I won't be needing any data transferred anymore, I appreciate very much your willingness to help.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:49 AM
Juin Juin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Pyongyang, North Korea
Posts: 81
Default

Sorry. I just have to say I'm impressed, Slender. Your English is superb. You have a fluent and strong command of the language, with proficient mastery in writing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2015, 06:20 AM
Mango777 Mango777 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: West coast
Posts: 317
Default

I'm confused. Sarcasm? Or is Slender from China or Denmark or someplace?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2015, 06:47 AM
Slender Slender is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juin View Post
Sorry. I just have to say I'm impressed, Slender. Your English is superb. You have a fluent and strong command of the language, with proficient mastery in writing.
I'm glad you noticed, friend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mango777 View Post
I'm confused. Sarcasm? Or is Slender from China or Denmark or someplace?
Mexico.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Account =Strogg= Tech Support 2 05-24-2013 02:55 AM
how do I log in to old account kazi Tech Support 1 04-30-2011 05:45 AM
Non-steam demo (mac) account community points ->Steam account Hawkslayer Tech Support 0 10-14-2010 04:16 AM
Transferring Ladder Ranks BootStraps Ladder Discussion 6 07-16-2010 11:09 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC