Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Tech Support

Tech Support Trouble running the game? Found a bug? Post here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2016, 05:26 AM
Mango777 Mango777 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: West coast
Posts: 317
Default Map editor won't open map

Hello, Mango here. I had been attempting to make a map before, using the map editor, but today when I attempted to open it the file would not open. The editor continues showing the previous map, and if you open it from default, it just says "Map", and shows a blank map. I have some backup copies of the map, and they open just fine. However those copies are behind a week and are missing much content. Is there a way to get the map operable again?

I don't know what else to say.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-03-2016, 05:37 AM
VAN1SH1NG VAN1SH1NG is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 931
Default

Maybe if you upload the entire map editor folder for the broken map and the last working version of the map, we can see what the problem might be.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-03-2016, 08:54 AM
LewisH LewisH is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Earth
Posts: 214
Default

I would be interested in seeing the un-openable map.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-04-2016, 04:16 AM
Mango777 Mango777 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: West coast
Posts: 317
Default

Ok then, how would I do that? Should I put the folder in a .zip folder and save it as an attachment?

edit: I put the .alte text from microsoft notepad on google docs: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...it?usp=sharing

Last edited by Mango777; 09-04-2016 at 04:31 AM. Reason: a link
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-04-2016, 05:20 AM
biell biell is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 164
Default

I checked the alte file, it is a valid XML document and parses just fine. I loaded it up in the map editor, and there is content. I can see many layers, goals, and plenty of hulls. Obviously with my images and textures directories empty, I can't exactly tell what is going on.

I think you should zip the entire directory up and put it some place we can download. Then, we can see what is wrong. I am wondering if one of your images is too big, and the map editor is running out of memory. You could try increasing the JVM max heap size for the map_editor too. It might be a good idea to upload your Editor.log file also.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-04-2016, 05:47 AM
Mango777 Mango777 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: West coast
Posts: 317
Default

Thanks biell! I tried removing an image and it opened properly this time. I guess one of them might have been a bit large. Thanks everyone for helping me, I can't believe I failed to try this before
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant open altitude Medo Tech Support 3 01-21-2012 01:30 PM
Can't open map editor Kennedy Tech Support 6 12-04-2010 12:59 AM
Can't open altitude leggomyeggo Tech Support 3 10-02-2010 04:11 AM
Altitude won't open Jacques Strap Tech Support 2 02-28-2010 05:30 PM
Can't open altitude Kai Tech Support 3 01-19-2010 02:32 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC