Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Dedicated Server
FAQ Community Calendar

Dedicated Server Discuss technical issues related to hosting your own servers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-04-2010, 08:09 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default Problem since last update

Since the last update, my server seems to be choosing the wrong network interface, generating messages like:
Code:
INFO [2010-03-04 02:57:15,653] [main]: Initializing update module on local IP 0.0.0.0/0.0.0.0, UDP port 27275
 ERROR [2010-03-04 02:57:15,669] [main]: java.io.IOException: Network is unreachable
And resulting in the server being unable to start. I've never had any problems with this in the past, although I did apply some various software updates yesterday, so it could be a problem associated with that.

Was anything changed in the code that would result in this happening, or should I be looking into some other problems with the machine itself?

Edit: and just for further reference, doing things like pinging external addresses is working fine.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-04-2010, 08:25 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

I haven't touched any networking stuff in a while -- Offhand I'd assume it's related to local network configs.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-04-2010, 08:43 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Alright, I guess I'll get to work figuring out what changed in my networking adapters. Will edit this post once I figure out the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:08 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Have you tried manually specifying the bind address? You can make the change from the UI (click Change next to Bind IP) or by modifying line 2 of launcher_config.xml (ex: change ip="" to ip="192.168.1.2")
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:44 AM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Hmm, yeah, when I was thinking about ways of making this work I forgot that was part of the config file, lol.

But now I'm getting a different issue (well, marginally different). I put the proper IP into the config file (IE: <ServerLauncherConfig ip="67.23.34.136" upnpEnabled="false" updatePort="27275"> )

But when I run the server, its giving me an invalid argument error:
Code:
INFO  : Initializing update module on local IP /67.23.34.136, UDP port 27275
ERROR : ServerLauncher update initialization failed
java.net.SocketException: Invalid argument
        at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.bind0(Native Method)
        at java.net.PlainDatagramSocketImpl.bind(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.DatagramSocket.bind(Unknown Source)
        at java.net.MulticastSocket.<init>(Unknown Source)
        at lr.<init>(SourceFile:10)
        at jY.<init>(SourceFile:48)
        at Gl.a(SourceFile:245)
        at Gl.<init>(SourceFile:94)
        at is.<init>(SourceFile:69)
        at bf.<init>(SourceFile:149)
        at bf.a(SourceFile:691)
        at em.entry.EntryServerLauncher.main(SourceFile:15)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.a(SourceFile:240)
        at em.update.client.launch.UpdateLauncher.main(SourceFile:67)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at com.exe4j.runtime.LauncherEngine.launch(Unknown Source)
        at com.install4j.runtime.Launcher.main(Unknown Source)
ERROR : ServerLauncher update initialization failed, exiting.
Gonna contact my VPS host as well, hopefully I can iron this out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:55 AM
lamster lamster is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,655
Default

Weird -- asking the VPS host seems like a good idea; hopefully they can shed some light on the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-04-2010, 08:41 PM
Karl Karl is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,206
Default

someone had a similar issue on debian. I dont know what OS you're running:

edit /etc/sysctl.d/bindv6only.conf
change 'net.ipv6.bindv6only = 1' to 'net.ipv6.bindv6only = 0'

make sure to reinitialize your system so the new settings take effect e.g. after disabling bindv6only

sudo invoke-rc.d procps restart
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-04-2010, 08:44 PM
tec27 tec27 is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 178
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karl View Post
someone had a similar issue on debian. I dont know what OS you're running:

edit /etc/sysctl.d/bindv6only.conf
change 'net.ipv6.bindv6only = 1' to 'net.ipv6.bindv6only = 0'

make sure to reinitialize your system so the new settings take effect e.g. after disabling bindv6only

sudo invoke-rc.d procps restart
That did the trick, thanks a bunch Karl
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC