Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Discussion > Ladder Discussion
FAQ Community Calendar

Ladder Discussion Everything related to altitudeladder.com and the ladder servers goes here.

Old 04-13-2011, 11:46 AM

Default Setting up a team

I'm new to ladder and I know my record speaks for itself - but I wanted to offer a suggestion anyways, please don't flame me.

Would it be possible to offer a brief pause at the start of a ladder match to allow a team to get setup. Currently all I see is, "[TEAM]Good team, imo" or "[expletive] ffs i have yank again". Then the match kicks off and there is rarely a leader that steps up to order plane configs.

I was thinking maybe a simple pause for 5 seconds... a menu might pop up that offers positions... like :

(1)heavy
(2)light
(3)utility

... and each player can make a choice to signify what they plan on playing for the game. The choice is optional, nothing happens if you dont select a position and you obviously aren't forced to stick to your choice.

I realize you could simply look at the planes that each person chooses at the start and adjust your own choice without any system, but that isnt perfect as people might change several times, affecting other peoples choices as well.

I thought this might encourage a bit of cooperation from players at the start of the match and hopefully make games a little better/more competitive.
Old 04-13-2011, 12:11 PM

This is what the initial spawn time in Ladder is increased than the default.

But usually 1 or 2 people in each team join only at the very last or even after the game starts. So it's usually not easy to tell what planes/setup they will be playing.