Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Dedicated Server
FAQ Community Calendar

Dedicated Server Discuss technical issues related to hosting your own servers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2010, 06:36 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default Introducing: Altitude Custom Commands

Here is the first version of my Java program AltitudeCustomCommands. It gives you an easy way to set up custom commands and more for your server.

It is still a beta and bugs can occure, but as far as my tests went, where weren't any bugs.

Download:
AltitudeCustomCommands


Features:
An easy way to execute your custom commands
randomMap command
Message of the day support
An interactive mode, for command execution without joining the server
Saving your logfiles

How does it work?
Just setup some .txt files with your commands, MOTD or randomMaps.

There's a README with more information where to put these files, and how the syntax is.

If you already have java installed, then you can already run it.
If not go to http://java.com/en/ and download it.

It will run on Windows, Linux and MacOS.


If you find any bugs, please inform me in this thread or write me a PM.
The sourcecode is also in the package, so feel free to modify it yourself if you want to.

Update 05-03-2010:
New Version avaiable...
  • Added interactive command : playerlist
  • Added interactive command : quit
  • Fixed some minor bugs

Update 06-03-2010:
New Version avaiable...
  • Added interactive command : whisper
  • Added interactive command : w
  • Changed interactive command : playerlist (new syntax)
  • Added HTML documentation

Update 08-03-2010:
New Version avaiable...
  • Added interactive command : serverinfo
  • Added interactive command : serverinfo::< port >
  • Fixed major bug in rewriting the logfiles.

Last edited by Varonth; 03-08-2010 at 12:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:07 AM
A doughnut A doughnut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IM ON A BOAT MOTHER****ER TAKE A GOOD HARD LOOK AT THE MOTHER****ING BOAT
Posts: 427
Default

ive been following this thread for a couple of days but im wondering y it is not getting any posts? sum1? im not downloading it so i cant talk about it but sum1 else, come on!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-27-2010, 06:29 AM
spc spc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 110
Default

i downloaded the custom commands program but i was unable to open it and i do have java. how do i get it to open? i have windows 7.

Last edited by spc; 02-27-2010 at 06:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2010, 01:43 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

If your PATH Variable is updated with the Java Path you can run it easily from cmd.exe .

Go to the directory where the AltitudeCustomCommand.jar is.

Hold Shift and press somewhere in the directory window -> Open Command Window here
Now the good old command window should appear, with the path already set to the directory of AltitudeCustomCommands.
Enter java -jar AltitudeCustomCommands.jar "Your servers path"

If your servers path is for example:
C:\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\servers

Then run:
java -jar AltitudeCustomCommands.jar C:\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\servers

If you want to run it with Interactive mode:
java -jar AltitudeCustomCommands.jar -i C:\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\servers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2010, 04:41 AM
spc spc is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 110
Default

The shift thing didnt seem to work so i opened the command prompt and typed in what you said according to my server path (C:\program files\altitude\servers) and it said "unable to access jarfile Altitudecustomcommands.jar" what did i do wrong?

Last edited by spc; 03-03-2010 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2010, 05:22 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Add me ingame, or query me in Quakenet, Nickname: Varonth .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-05-2010, 01:19 PM
Harpertown Harpertown is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

when i run it i get


C:\Altitude>java -jar AltitudeCustomCommands.jar C:\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\servers
java.lang.NullPointerException
at AltitudeCustomCommands.Main.main(Main.java:150)
and then nothing seems to happen, what am i doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-05-2010, 02:06 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

That is a known bug, when you don't start in interactive mode.
The programm should still parse the logfiles and print out MOTD or execute custom commands.

The bug is already fixed in the next update.
Just have to fix another one problem, for the next release, including a better interactive mode.


Edit:
I found the Bug faster then i thought.
So new Version is now avaiable.

Last edited by Varonth; 03-05-2010 at 02:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-05-2010, 03:48 PM
Harpertown Harpertown is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default

thanks, managed to get it working
now is there a way to server whisper to all players on the server via interactive mode? that would be pretty awesome
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-05-2010, 03:57 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Well this would not require whisper, and yes it is possible:
For example, your the server where you want the message to appear has the listening port 27275 ->
27275::serverMessage "your message" (without the quotation marks)

Now it will print the message to everyones chat on 27275 as:
[Server]: "your message"

Edit:
If I find some time, I will add new multi server commands.
Right now the interactive commands always need the specific port you want infos of, or execute commands on.

I have plans to add things like a global playerlist, with all the players on every virtual server you are running, as well as something like messageAll which will send a message to every server.
Also some easier whisper to player commands are in development, which doesn't require the server of the player you want to whisper to i.E.:
Now you have to type : 27275::serverWhisper KLF.Varonth whispermessage
I have plans so you just have to type
whisper KLF.Varonth whispermessage
w KLF.Varonth whispermessage

If anyone got nice ideas, you can also make some suggestions.

Last edited by Varonth; 03-05-2010 at 04:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:56 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Bump for new version.

This new version includes a new command for the interactive mode:
whisper .
Now you don't have to input the right port to whisper someone.
Just type
Code:
whisper nickname message
or
Code:
w nickname message
And a new HTML documentation of the program, including server and interactive command lists.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-08-2010, 12:30 AM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Triple Post! due to new version.

This new update introduces a new interactive command "serverinfo" and provides a bugfix, which could cause (although it the chance that this would happen was extremly low) the log reroll to be incomplete.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-09-2010, 05:28 PM
Dekaiden Dekaiden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Default Really Awesome

This may be a dumb question, but, how do you execute the command in game? I have admin privileges for my server. When I'm in game do I type:

/custom customCommandName
or just
/customCommandName

I edited the XML file already and have the customCommands.txt created with the command. I just can't seem to get it to execute in game. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-09-2010, 05:43 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dekaiden View Post
This may be a dumb question, but, how do you execute the command in game? I have admin privileges for my server. When I'm in game do I type:

/custom customCommandName
or just
/customCommandName

I edited the XML file already and have the customCommands.txt created with the command. I just can't seem to get it to execute in game. Thanks.
Are you running the program in interactive mode?
If yes, it should print "Interactive mode ready", else it shouldn't print anything.

Another good test if the program actually works is to setup a message of the day.
Does it print a motd ingame, or not?

If it prints one, then program is doing what it should, and the problem lies somewhere in the execution of you command serverwise.
You can check you log.txt for a line:
Code:
{"port":xxxxx,"time":xxxxx,"command":"customCommandName","type":"customCommand"}
Also the commands are case sensitive.
So if you have the command customCommandName as command in your launcher_config.xml then the customCommands.txt must also have customCommandName, not customCommandname or something like that.

If all these doesn't help, then please post these things here:
  • The customCommandDiscriptor out of your launcher_config.xml
  • The log.txt line {"port":xxxxx,"time":xxxxx,"command":"customComman dName","type":"customCommand"} with the right port after "port":
  • The content of your customCommands.txt
  • The OS you are running (Windows/Linux/Mac OS?)
  • The command you use to run AltitudeCustomCommands for example:
    java -jar C:\Altitude\AltitudeCustomCommands -i C:\Altitude\servers\

Last edited by Varonth; 03-09-2010 at 05:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-09-2010, 09:31 PM
Dekaiden Dekaiden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Default

I'm not running interactive mode. I tried the MotD and that worked just fine, but the commands aren't working.
Here's the log for the MotD:

Quote:
{"port":27276,"time":20328,"arguments":["///aV0.Dekaiden","Hello Everyone!"],"source":"00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000","command":"serverWhisper","group":"s erver","type":"consoleCommandExecute"}
Quote:
* The customCommandDiscriptor out of your launcher_config.xml
* The log.txt line {"port":xxxxx,"time":xxxxx,"command":"customCom man dName","type":"customCommand"} with the right port after "port":
* The content of your customCommands.txt
* The OS you are running (Windows/Linux/Mac OS?)
* The command you use to run AltitudeCustomCommands for example:
java -jar C:\Altitude\AltitudeCustomCommands -i C:\Altitude\servers\
Code:
<customCommands>
        <CustomCommandDescriptor name="helloWorld" votePassPercentage="60" />
</customCommands>
It's not posting anything in log file.

customCommand.txt
helloWorld::27276::serverMessage Hello Server 27276

Windows Vista Ultimate, 64bit

Command Line
C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre6\bin\java -jar C:\Users\Dekaiden\Documents\Altitude Maps\AltitudeCustomCommands C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\altitude\servers



I think that's everything.

Last edited by Dekaiden; 03-09-2010 at 09:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:03 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

You are trying to execute it directly as /custom helloWorld , right?

If yes, you also have to be a server admin.
You can add yourself to be an serverAdmin by opening the server_configurator and edit your server...
There is a textbox labeled Admins.
But your vaporID in this textbox and add it to your server_admins.

You can find your vaporID by loging into your altitude account -> Options -> Account -> Account ID

Thats your vaporID.

You can also search your vaporID in your log.txt
There must be a line:

Code:
{"port":27276,"time":xxxxx,"player":x,"nickname":"\\\aV0.Dekaiden","vaporId":"your vaporID","type":"clientAdd","ip":"x.x.x.x:xxxxxx"}
You can also run you helloWorld command by voting it ->
/vote custom helloWorld
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:22 PM
Dekaiden Dekaiden is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 42
Default

I am admin on the server already, and yes, I am trying to execute the command with /custom helloWorld however, I'm getting the following error:

Parameter command has an invalid value helloWorld. Must be . No other commands are allowed on this server.

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-09-2010, 10:34 PM
Varonth Varonth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 66
Default

Hmm, this seems to be a problem in your launcher_config.xml .

When you type in "/custom" it should show you a list of possible commands, which I thing won't pop in either.

I actually don't know where the bug could be, but if you want, you could send me the launcher_config.xml if you want (you can also delete things like passworts if you need to).

I will take a look into it then.
You can paste it in here:
https://pastee.org/

Text Only or XML as Lexer, then send me the link as a PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-12-2010, 02:08 PM
wyclef wyclef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Asteroid Belt.
Posts: 88
Default Custom Commands

Hey Varonth,

Would you be able to provide some assistance for a mac user? I'm trying to input this java jar stuff in Terminal but am running into this...

java -jar /Applications/Games/Shoot\ \'em\ Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: -1
at AltitudeCustomCommands.Main.main(Main.java:108)

What am I missing here?

(EDITED)
Tried it again and got this...

/Applications/Games/Shoot\ \'em\ Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar java -jar /Applications/Games/Shoot\ \'em\ Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar /Applications/Games/Shoot\ \'em\ Ups/Altitude/servers
/Applications/Games/Shoot 'em Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar: line 1: PK: command not found
/Applications/Games/Shoot 'em Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar: line 2: META-INF/??PK: No such file or directory
/Applications/Games/Shoot 'em Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar: line 3: y?uk??META-INF/MANIFEST.MFManifest-Version:: No such file or directory
/Applications/Games/Shoot 'em Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar: line 4: Ant-Version:: command not found
/Applications/Games/Shoot 'em Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar: line 5: syntax error near unexpected token `('
/Applications/Games/Shoot 'em Ups/Altitude/AltitudeCustomCommands.jar: line 5: `'reated-By: 14.3-b01 (Sun Microsystems Inc.)

Last edited by wyclef; 11-12-2010 at 04:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-12-2010, 11:45 PM
wyclef wyclef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Asteroid Belt.
Posts: 88
Default success!

Starting interactive mode...
Interactive mode ready

OK...

Now what? motd.txt is in the servers folder with some text in it but i don't see any server messages.

How do I initiate that?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11-14-2010, 05:36 AM
|HF|Binarian |HF|Binarian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: RIT
Posts: 122
Default

COMPETITION!!!!

kind of. but in any case, looks interesting. keep it up!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-16-2013, 02:09 AM
Nubby Moss Nubby Moss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 29
Default New Link, Please!

I'm not really expecting a reply, but if you see this could you post a new download link? Megaupload is gone haha.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-30-2013, 08:18 PM
{T} Jazz {T} Jazz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nubby Moss View Post
I'm not really expecting a reply, but if you see this could you post a new download link? Megaupload is gone haha.
Yes please. I would like this as well!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2008 Nimbly Games LLC