Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Discussion > General Altitude Discussion
FAQ Community Calendar

General Altitude Discussion Discuss anything Altitude related that doesn't belong in another forum.

Old 12-13-2009, 10:39 AM

Default Controller support = higher skill cap?

I'm brand new to the game; been playing less than a week. I've been having an absolute BLAST the past few days failing most of the time with a few glimpses of the real potential this game has to offer.

My main hangup has been the controls. While I'm used to using a keyboard, it still feels awkward most of the time. I'm wondering if you more experienced players will stay with the keyboard or relearn on a controller/joystick?

It seems a controller or joystick would add a few hundreths (if not tenths) of seconds to your reaction time, thus bringing the overall skillcap of the game to a new level. After playing for a long time and seeing a lot of crazy shtuff, do you think it will be harder for you to compete with the up-and-coming controller users in the next 6 months-year?

Sorry if this is too long or the thoughts disjointed. I'm a bit scatterbrained atm.

~LeLLo
Old 12-13-2009, 12:39 PM
Super Moderator

I am not sure what you mean when you say that you think a controller/joystick would quicken your reaction time. Unless of course there is something I am missing. However, either way, the game is less about reaction time and more about plane positioning and optimal energy use. I would say that most of the time kills come from having an advantage over another plane rather than reaction time and even after a lot of practice, some players will always be better at abusing those advantages than others, so I don't think a controller will ever outweigh that factor.
Old 12-13-2009, 12:52 PM

I never used a controller in my life for any computer games and I don't play console systems often.