Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Discussion > Guides
FAQ Community Calendar

Guides Altitude strategy guides.

Old 11-05-2010, 05:29 PM

Default [G] Guide to Reverse Whale (RW)

[NOTE: My apologies in advance that I can't provide a video to go with this post, but my current laptop is too low-end to manage movie-capture software like FRAPS. Hopefully the images I've prepared will suffice for this guide. If anyone wants to try and make a companion video to this guide, I would be happy to link it here]

Introduction

Hi all,

From reading other Explodet guides and player opinions posted on this forum, it's pretty evident that most people think Reverse Thrust on an Explodet (a.k.a. reverse fatty; reverse whale) is a 'worthless perk'. I started playing reverse whale while crunching through the ace ranks; I had read Beagle's Sniplane guide and had wanted to practice that, but since one can only unlock HC at level 56, and then tentatively reset the ace rank just four levels later, I didn't get much play time with the RT + HC combo. Also, I'd generally been playing regular Director whale during most of my Ace cycles, so I figured what the heck, I'll learn RT on the whale, just for fun. I eventually found out that having RT opens up a lot of interesting tactics that are unavailable to a 'standard' whale.

It sounds absurd (and Kuja will probably need to take migraine meds while reading this), but I think that reverse whale is a surprisingly good setup if you're willing to practice with it. On a good day, I'm able to manage a 2-1, 3-1 or even 4-1 ratio on Official servers using this setup; on ladder, I can at least manage a decent 1-1 ratio, which is still pretty good for a 'worthless perk'. That said, it's obviously not for everyone, since adding RT into your whale tactics makes flying twice as complicated, if not more. But it's very rewarding and fun. I can't even picture myself flying whale without reverse, it seems like a step down...