Altitude Game: Forums  

Go Back   Altitude Game: Forums > Altitude Support > Dedicated Server
FAQ Community Calendar

Dedicated Server Discuss technical issues related to hosting your own servers.

Old 09-12-2011, 08:15 AM

Default Server Hitches aka lag spikes

Hey all. I'm running a couple of servers 'Oh-Clan servers'

I've been running 2 14 slot servers with custom maps for a couple of months now. And I keep getting server hitches.

When I look on the server while a game is going on I keep seeing:

[12 Sep 2011 11:36:01,841] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1773.0 milliseconds, free memory is 141.1 / 244.7 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:38:01,837] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1753.0 milliseconds, free memory is 138.1 / 245.4 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:40:01,848] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1772.0 milliseconds, free memory is 190.2 / 246.4 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:42:01,837] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1743.0 milliseconds, free memory is 130.6 / 247.6 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:44:01,837] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1737.0 milliseconds, free memory is 181.0 / 248.4 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:46:01,837] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1752.0 milliseconds, free memory is 160.9 / 248.6 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:48:01,838] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1735.0 milliseconds, free memory is 152.6 / 248.6 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:50:01,837] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1764.0 milliseconds, free memory is 145.8 / 249.2 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:52:01,838] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1771.0 milliseconds, free memory is 167.8 / 249.6 MB
[12 Sep 2011 11:54:01,842] WARN: Server hitch detected: 1791.0 milliseconds, free memory is 125.8 / 249.7 MB

As you can see its exactly every 2 minutes. And now that I put them next to each other I noticed every hitch is ALWAYS in the range of 837 - 850 ms

Anything specific happening around then? I'm pretty sure its a bug in the server software seeing as I ruled out everything else.

-Gave it more memory 256 MB start up 768 mb burstable, and you can see it isn't running out of memory either.